Investments

The demand is increasing for upgrading the road infrastructure with simultaneously exhausting traditional sources of financing in the Russian regions, and along with it the interest of regional and local administrations to attract private investment for construction of new roads and structures also increases. Regional and municipal authorities are increasingly adopting the federal experience in development of the road sector based on the PPP principles.

Road concessions are a guarantee of profitability and return on investment.
  • Distribution of private investment by industry
  • Distribution of private investment by level of government
Distribution of private investment by industry
Distribution of private investment by level of government

Длина региональных дорог и количество автомобилей

Social
220.3
Transport
1031.2
Utilities and energy
488.0
Other sectors
87.5
Federal level
166.5
Regional level
201.9
Municipal level
250.6

The most common forms of PPP by source of income are as follows

Direct toll collection

40-50%
is the share of private financing in the projects with high traffic volume

Direct toll collection assumes that all revenues from automobile traffic go in favor of the investor. The main risk that the investor bears in this case is the risk of traffic itself, which may turn out to be lower than the predicted one. This type of concession is used in the projects (or road sections) with high traffic volumes. In such projects, the share of private financing is 40-50%, and the potential internal rate of return may reach 15-20%.

Life cycle contract

25-30%
is the share of private financing in the projects with high traffic volume
100%
of revenues from automobile traffic is collected by a grantor, and it also bears the risk of traffic

The private investor receives a fixed payment, which includes the return on investment (equity or borrowed funds), road maintenance fee (maintenance charge) and fixed interest on invested capital, which, as a rule, is the inflation rate plus 4-8%, i.e. the total yield may be on average 11.0-14.0% per annum, which is quite an attractive level on the horizon of 25-30 years. This type of concession is used on the road sections with less heavy traffic and a longer payback period.

Инвестиции

Спрос на модернизацию автодорожной инфраструктуры при одновременном исчерпании традиционных источников финансирования в российских регионах возрастает, а вместе с ним и интерес региональных и местных администраций к привлечению частных инвестиций для строительства новых дорог и сооружений. Региональные и муниципальные органы власти все чаще перенимают федеральный опыт развития дорожной отрасли на принципах ГЧП.

Дорожные концессии – гарантия доходности и возврата вложенных средств.
  • Распределение инвестиций в проекты
  • Распределение частных инвестиций в проектах
Распределение инвестиций в проекты
Распределение частных инвестиций в проектах

Длина региональных дорог и количество автомобилей

Социальная
204,0
Транспортная
845,7
Коммунально-энергетическая
417,2
Информационно-коммуникационная
46,8
Иные сферы
6,0
Федеральный уровень
182,4
Региональный уровень
1038,7
Муниципальный уровень
114,2

Наиболее распространенные формы ГЧП по источнику доходов

Прямой сбор оплаты

40-50%
Cоставляет доля частного финансирования в проектах с высоким объемом трафика

Прямой сбор оплаты предполагает, что все доходы от автомобильного трафика идут в пользу инвестора. Главный риск, который несет в этом случае инвестор, – риск самого трафика, который может оказаться ниже прогнозируемого. Подобный тип концессии используется в проектах (или участках дорог) с высоким объемом трафика. В таких проектах доля частного финансирования составляет 40-50%, а потенциальная внутренняя норма доходности может достигать 15-20%.

Контракт жизненного цикла

25-30%
Cоставляет доля частного финансирования в проектах с высоким объемом трафика
100% выручки
от автомобильного трафика собирает концедент, и он же несет риск трафика

Частный инвестор получает фиксированный платеж, включающий в себя возврат на инвестиции (собственные или заемные), плату за обслуживание дороги (эксплуатационный платеж) и фиксированный процент на вложенный капитал, который, как правило, составляет индекс инфляции плюс 4-8%, т.е. общая доходность может составить в среднем 11,0-14,0% годовых, что является вполне привлекательным уровнем на горизонте 25-30 лет. Данный тип концессии применяется на участках дорог с менее интенсивным движением и более длительным периодом окупаемости.